Wildlife Movement/Migration Committee

Wildlife Movement / Migration Committee

Elk Bull, Arizona. Photo Credit – Arizona Game & Fish Department

The establishment of the Wildlife Movement/Migration Working Group was  approved by the WAFWA President and directors in July of 2019. The working group’s members consist of state and provincial fish and wildlife agency personnel who have technical expertise and oversight of matters involving wildlife movement and migration. The group reports directly to the WAFWA board of directors. The working group’s approved Statement of Purpose:

“A forum where jurisdictions can share information, methods, and foster collaboration on wildlife movement and migration. The working group will also serve the important function of providing information and updates to the directors and consistent messaging to media and legislators on behalf of WAFWA.”


Secretarial Order: SO3362

SO 3362 – Progress Report, August 2020

Improving Habitat Quality in Western Big-Game Winter Range and Migration Corridors

On February 9, 2018, at an event in Salt Lake City, Utah, the Secretary of the Interior signed Secretarial Order 3362, “Improving Habitat Quality in Western Big Game Winter Range and Migration Corridors”. The Order has attracted considerable attention and created momentum for management and conservation of migration corridors and winter range.

The Order is focused on species under the management authority of state fish and wildlife agencies, so it directs the appropriate bureaus within the Department to engage western states collaboratively and cooperatively. More directly, the Order recognizes state authority to manage big game species. The Order is focused on conserving, enhancing, restoring, or improving the condition of priority big game winter range and migration corridor habitat. Ultimately, the habitat conservation activities resulting from the implementation of the Order will provide positive benefits to big game populations and numerous other wildlife species.

Learn More

Members List

Orrin Duvuvuei, Chair
New Mexico Dept. of Game and Fish
Scott Sprague, Vice-Chair
Arizona Game and Fish Dept.
Alan Jenne, Leadership Sponsor
Nevada Department of Wildlife